Nadis: Meaning and Guidance to Energy Channels in the Human Body 

March 15, 2024

Did you know that a network of 72000 Nadis distributes energy throughout the human body? In Sanskrit, ‘Nadi’ means Tube or Channel to distribute Prana effectively. Three major Nadis run through the spinal cord and the Chakras in our spinal column. According to Ayurveda, nadis are the pathways through which Prana flows. Prana can flow through these nadis only when they are clear and robust enough to hold the Prana. Therefore, it is essential to keep the nadis unblocked. 

If these Nadis are blocked, one can perform Nadi Shodhana pranayama to unblock them and resume the flow of Prana. 

Similar to the nervous system in the human body, Nadis holds significance beyond physical existence and in cosmic and spiritual plans. Breathing plays an essential part in activating these channels. Somewhere in our spinal column, these nadis form a knot known as ‘granthi’; when these knots are untied, their energy gives power like healing power, auras, seeing past and future, etc. Thus, Nadis play a vital role in our spiritual existence.

To know your chakras, Talk to Astrologers of DivineTalk Astrology right now!

Relation with Chakras

You might be aware of the seven chakras, but did you know these chakras are closely related to our Nadis? 

The meaning of chakras is ‘wheel’, symbolising the energy centres that exist within a human body. Traditionally, there are seven Chakras. Chakras are where the energy comes from.

  • Root chakra or Muladhara

Present at the base of your spine. Responsible for your sense of security and stability.

  • Sacral chakra or Svadhisthana

Present at the tailbone. Promote creativity and sexuality.

  • Solar plexus chakra or Manipura

Present on the spine at the level of the navel. Promotes wisdom and power.

  • Heart chakra or Anahata

Present on the spine at the level of the heart—Pramod healing, love and affection.

  • Throat chakra or Vishuddha

Present on the spine at the level of the throat—Emphasise communication.

  • Third eye chakra or Ajna

Present at the centre of the forehead. Promotes awareness.

  • Crown chakra or Sahasrara

Present at the crown of the head. Promotes spirituality.

The Nadi system circulates the cosmic energy from one chakra to another chakra.

Three Important Nadis

1- Ida Nadi (Passive Left Channel)

It originates from the Muladhara Chakra, from where it flows to the left and weaves in and out of the other chakras until it reaches our left nostril. It deals with our mental energy. Linked with the moon, the power flowing from ida nadi is considered passive. It promotes feelings of attachment and love.

2- Pingala Nadi (Active Right Channel)

It originates from the root chakra, like Ed and Audi, but flows towards the right side. It passes through the rest of the chakras with Ida Nadi and ends at the right nostril. Red represents its vibrational qualities, symbolising a link to the sun—Pramod’s creativity, confidence and perception.

3- Sushumna Nadi (Central Channel)

It runs straight up to the spine from the root chakra to the crown chakra, as this central channel enables you to achieve spiritual awakening through yoga. Brahma Nadi is also called the path to Brahma or the Supreme Being. When our Prana flows through the Sushumna Nadi for a prolonged period, we leave the physical world and enter the state of Samadhi.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q: What is the meaning of Nadis?

A: Nadi is a Sanskrit word that can be translated as ‘tube’, ‘channel’, or ‘flow’. It refers to the network of channels through which energy flows throughout the body.

Q: How many Nadis or energy pathways exist in the human body?

A: A Body consists of 72000 Nadis. The 72000 Nadis spring from three basic Nadis- the left, the right and the central- the Ida, Pingala and Sushumna.

Q: What is the difference between Chakras and Nadia?

A: Chakras are located at different points along the Nadis, and Prana travels through the Nadis to the other chakras. A chakra is a location that Prana travels to, and it travels to them through the Nadis.

Q: Which pranayama purifies all the 72000 Nadis?

A: Pranayama, such as Nadi shuddhi and Nadi shodhana, are essential for cleansing the nervous system. It is said that Nadi shuddhi can cleanse all 72000 Nadis.

Also Read: The Magic of 369 Manifestation Method