Navdurga- The 9 Form Of Maa Durga And Their Vahan

April 11, 2024

Navdurga, the nine days of Navratri, represents 9 Devi with different qualities. Goddess Durga is a deity able to appear in nine different forms. So, the particular time of the year is here, and the celebration has already begun. Chaitra Navratri is celebrated with lots of love and excitement all over India. The festival is celebrated for nine days, and each day represents a different form of Goddess Durga. The nine forms of Goddess Durga are Maa Shailputri, Maa Brahmcharini, Maa Chandraghanta, Maa Kushmanda, Maa Skandamata, Maa Katyayani, Maa Kalratri, Maa Mahagauri, Maa Siddhidatri.

Read about nine divine forms of Goddess Durga in this blog, which we will worship during the nights of Navratri. Visit our App for more details about Auspicious Muhurat and DivineTalk Astrology rituals.

Maa Shailputri

Mata Shailputri is the first form of Maa Durga, and it is worshipped during Chaitra Navratri. Shailputri means ‘daughter of the mountains’; she is the daughter of Hemavana, the king of the Himalayas. She is the purest form of Durga and a mother of nature. Maa Shailputri holds a trident in one hand and a lotus flower in another. Her ride is bull- Nandi.

Maa Brahmacharini

On the second day, devotees worship Goddess Brahmcharini. Her depiction is as the female ascetic form of Maa Durga, carrying a rosary bead made of Rudraksha in one hand, representing the special Hindu prayers, and a Kamandalu in another, symbolising marital bliss. She endows happiness, peace, prosperity, and grace upon all devotees.

Maa Chandraghanta

Chandrakanta is the third form of Durga, representing peace and prosperity in life. Her name is from the half-moon on her forehead in the shape of a bell. Maa Chandraghanta is attractive in her golden radiant colour and rides a lion. Like lion, she is always ready to fight demons and has ten hands, each carrying a different weapon.

Maa Kushmanda

The fourth divine form of Maa Durga is ‘Kushmanda,’ which means ‘creator of the universe’. Like all other forms, Kushmanda has multiple hands in which she holds weapons, a rosary, and holy objects. Mata Kushmanda rides a lion, symbolising strength and courage in adversity.


She is the mother of Lord Kartikeya, whom God chose in the war against demons. We worship her on the fifth day of Navdurga. She is seated on a Lion and has four arms and three eyes. She holds infant Skanda in her right upper arm and a Lotus in her right and left hands.

Maa Katyayani

People worship Maa Katayani on the sixth day of Navratri, as Kalaratri is worshipped the next night. She is a fearsome goddess with wild hair and 18 arms, each of which holds weapons. Born in a fit of anger, she emits a bright light from her body so that darkness and evil cannot hide in her presence. She can bestow a sense of calm and inner peace to those who worship her.

Maa Kalaratri

Kalratri, the ‘one who does good’, is Maa Kali. She is a fearsome deity with a dark complexion, four arms, and three eyes. People worship her as a protector of the Hindu faithful, one who is both feared and honoured. Her left-hand holds a vajra and a dagger, both used to fight evil forces. Her right hand protects devotees from all fears, giving them protection from darkness and fears.

Maa Mahagauri

We worship Maa Mahagauri on the 8th day of Nav Durga. Her name means ‘extremely white’. It is a belief that worshipping Mahagauri will wash away all past, present, and future sins, imparting a deep sense of inner peace. Moreover, she wears white clothes, has four arms, and rides on a bull.

Maa Siddhidatri

She is the final form of the goddess Durga, who we worship on the final night of Navratri. She is a ‘giver of supernatural power’ and is the provider of all Siddhis. It is a belief that she is the incarnation of Mahashakti, and Lord Shiva attained Siddhis by worshipping her. She particularly rides a lion, has four limbs, carries a trident (Sudarshana Chakra, symbolising soul or timelessness), a conch shell(Shankha, representing longevity), and a Lotus.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q: Why is Maa Navdurga worshipped during Navratri?

A: The idol of Maa Durga is worshipped during Navratri. On this day, devotees worship all line forms of Maa Durga, who punishes those who indulge in wrong deeds.

Q: What are the nine divine forms of Goddess Durga?

A: The nine forms of Maa Durga are Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayni, Kalratri, Mahagauri and the last one is Siddhidatri.

Q: How do we bring luck and prosperity to Navratri?

A: Navratri brings us opportunities to impress Maa Durga by worshipping her nine forms. Also, performing rituals like fasting, Pooja, Kanya Pujan or doing garba and Dandiya Raas during this time may bring goddess blessings.

Also Read: Chaitra Navratri 2024: Find Out The Auspicious Date, Timing and Rituals